Sunday Drive

I remember when I was young my Grandma or Grandpa would take my brothers and sister and I (the youngest was not yet born) for a Sunday drive and we would get ice cream.

Now that I think about it, we drove the long scenic route to the store 10 minutes away. To a child though it seemed like quiet a drive. Not long enough to say “Are we there yet?” but because it was not the route we drove with our parents  it seemed exciting.

I took two of my girls on a Sunday drive yesterday.We stopped at McDonald’s for a hot fudge sundae (with half the topping on the bottom and half on top). Then we took the long way back home through the wineries and and small dairy farms. The green rolling hills were so vibrant.

I took this picture this morning. I bought these chicks and the fence at the grocery store. I already owned that daddy rooster you can barely see. The chicks are wind up and hop. Everyone has played with them – they are so cute.

One day I hope to have a small coop and chickens. I saw a picture in  a issue of Mary Engelbreit’s Home Companion magazine a few years ago. http://www.homecompanionmag.com/

It was painted oh so pretty and well enclosed so that cats and others could not get at the chicken in the night. Our area is zoned for small livestock. I will keep dreaming.

img_8418.JPGI

img_8393.JPG 

Leave a Reply

