Return

This is my first full day back from Utah. No, this is the 2nd day…

My Grandma passed away last week at the age of 89. She was dearly loved by her family, her church family (Canyon Rim 4th Ward) and many others.

My Grandma had a huge impact on my younger years. I have taken up quilting, candy making and embroidery because of her example.

While we did not agree on religion, she loved me and took great joy in my children. I have 4 brothers and sisters and many cousins. She loved them deeply too and took great joy in those great-grand children.

Something I did not know. Grandma would have my Mom buy beautiful metal butterfly magnets. She kept the latest batch on her refrigerator and gave them to visiting children. That is so cool.

My Grandma made this apron and now it hangs in my kitchen.

 

2 Responses to “Return”

  1. ditchu Says:

    My condolences, I feel your loss at this time but I would have you know that this seperation is only temporary. I do know that we will reunite with those who have gone before us beyond the vail of this temporal life. I do know that the spirit lives on.
    May you find confort in the next days and years, and may your memories serve you well and bring you joy.

    I think I would have loved to have meet your grandma, she sounds like a wonderful person.

    God bless you,
    -D

  2. Karla Dornacher Says:

    Hi Dawna,
    Thank you for stopping by my blog… and I’m so sorry for your loss but so glad for you that you have such fond and wonderful memories of your Grandmother… treasures that will be yours forever. I always think of my husband’s grandmother as I’m canning food or making jam because of her example and her taking the time to teach me how to know when the peach was transparent and ready to go in the jar. Your Grandmother will always be with you as you quilt and embroider and make your candy… as she deposited a part of who she was into who you are… and just like I do when I can or jam… you will smile remembering her loving kindness.

    Lord bless you and comfort you,
    Karla


Leave a Reply

