Strawberry Upside-Down Cake

This is from my HY-Vee grocery magazine. It is called Cranberry Upside-Down Cake. But it is spring so I went with strawberries. Now I am in California, but my father’s side is from Ottumwa Iowa. I went to the Hy-Vee website and put in my name and clicked on  the address for “my local Ottumwa store” to get my copy and put my address in just to see if they would send a copy. As the kids say “squee” they have been sending it.

I took lots of photos while making it. On my! it was yummy. I made a plain cake also and it was very good too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Topping: 4 tbsp Hy-Vee unsalted butter 1/2 c. Hy-Vee granulated sugar 2 tbsp Hy-Vee red plum jelly 2 3/4 c. cranberries, fresh or thawed from frozen Cake: 1 1/2 c. Hy-Vee all-purpose flour 1 tsp Hy-Vee baking powder 1/4 tsp Hy-Vee salt 1/2 c. Hy-Vee unsalted butter, softened 1 c. Hy-Vee granulated sugar 1 tsp Hy-Vee vanilla extract 2  Hy-Vee large eggs, separated 1/2 c. heavy whipping cream 1/4 tsp cream of tartar. Here is the link to the full  recipe.

I did not do the above topping. I bought a can of strawberry pie filling.  But, I should have used 1/2 the can. Live and learn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Set oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9-inch round cake pan. Line the bottom with a 9-inch parchment paper round and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt; set aside. In a large mixing bowl, blend 1/2 cup softened butter and 1 cup sugar until fluffy. Add vanilla extract. Add egg yolks, one at a time, blending well after each addition. Add the flour mixture alternately with heavy cream. In a small bowl, beat the egg whites with cream of tartar until stiff peaks form with mixer. Gently fold egg whites into the prepared cake batter.

*Now I messed up here. Did not read that you add egg whites, kept thinking “wow this batter is thick”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Egg whites added here in this photo. Much better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*And then messed once more by not putting the strawberries in the bottom on top of the parchment paper. It was easy to fix I am glad to say. Here the strawberries are in the pan (just too much).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gently spoon batter over strawberries in prepared cake pan, smoothing the top. Bake 45 to 50 minutes or until the top of the cake has browned and the center springs back. Watch closely the last 15 min. Remove to a cooling rack for 10 minutes. Run a paring knife around the edge of the pan and invert the cake onto a serving plate. Cool before serving. *The plain cake cooked in 28 min.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the plain cake.

Leave a Reply

