Twice Baked Potatoes

My family loves this snack. It is pretty filling, so sometimes I don’t have to make dinner on days I made this.

I get my daughters to help me scrub about 10-15 potatoes. We usually soak them in 2 big bowls of water in the morning to loosen the dirt. I have a kitchen brush that is only for potatoes scrubbing.

I pierce each potato with a fork before putting in the oven to bake.  I usually bake them at 400 degrees (my oven is off a bit, so I raise the temp instead of 350-375) for 1 hour. I use the nonstick tin foil and do not bother wrapping them in tin foil.

When the potatoes are cooked through, I pull them out and slice them in to thick rounds. I lay them out flat on the pan again.

This is a bit time consuming, but I put a bit of butter on each little slice of potato. Next comes real bacon bits (fake bacon bits just do not taste right). Then a layer of cheese on every little potato slice and back in the oven they go to melt that cheese. Just about 5 min.

I like sour cream on my potatoes. My kids have started to like it too. Our one daughter adds green onions to her plate.

DPP_0013 web DPP_0014 web DPP_0015 web

Leave a Reply

