Spice Cake

I wrote I would post a Spice Cake recipe here.

I had to make changes to the original recipe because eggnog was no longer in season. I did not have enough white sugar and cardamom in very expensive, so I never did buy it. Because I only have 9 inch pans, I bake 1 pan at a time. If I bake both pans together, one gets a little burned because of hot spots in my old oven.

Spice Cake

2 ½ C all purpose flour

1 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp allspice

1/8 tsp cloves

1 ½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 C unsalted butter – softened

1 C sugar

½ C brown sugar

4 eggs – room temperature

1tbs vanilla

1 C butter milk

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two cake pans. I used 9 inch pans.

Cake – Sift flour, spices, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.

Cream together butter and sugars well. About 4 min. Beat in 1 egg at a time. Scrap sides after each eggs is mixed. Mix in vanilla.

Reduce mixer to low. Add flour mixture in thirds alternating with buttermilk and ending with flour mixture.

Pour batter into prepared pans. Bake for 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool. Frost or use a dusting of powdered sugar.

Here is the original recipe. I took a photo of the pages.egg nog cake spice Click on the photo to make it larger.

Leave a Reply

