Orange Cake with Chocolate Drizzle

I made this very yummy cake!

orange cake4small

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got the recipe from “English Tea and Cakes” magazine.

English Tea and Cakes web

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had to make a few adjustments. After much searching, I could not for the life of me find baker’s sugar. I put my regular sugar through the sifter twice in an effort to make it super fine. I do not think it worked very well, but the cake still tasted yummy.

When I first melted the chocolate, I used the microwave. I never use the microwave to melt chocolate. The chocolate clumped up instead of being smooth and runny for a drizzle. Next time I will do the tried and true double boiler method to melt the chocolate.

Orange Cake with Chocolate Drizzle

¾ C butter

¾ C bakers sugar (super fine)

3 large eggs

Grated rind from 2 oranges

1 ½ C self-rising flour, sifted

2 Tbsp milk

Topping

¼ – ½ C semi sweet chocolate or 1 chocolate bar.

½ C orange juice

½ C sugar

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour loaf pan.

Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time. Beat well after each one. Add grated orange, flour and milk. Mix well. Pour into pan. Smooth the top. Bake for 30-35 min. or until skewer come out clean. When cool, score top of cake with sharp knife.

Dissolved orange juice and sugar over low heat. When dissolved bring to a boil for 1-2 min. Pour over cake while in pan and let soak in. Remove from pan. Melt chocolate in microwave or double boiler and drizzle over cake.

Leave a Reply

